Industrial Stormwater Permit Guide

Your link to federal and state compliance resources

Lesson 1 | Page 6 of 7Home | DictionaryPrevious Page | Next Page

Lesson 1: Compliance Background and Applicability

In areas where the state has not been authorized by US EPA to administer its own stormwater program, then EPA is responsible for issuing stormwater discharge permits or accepting No Exposure Certifications.

If your facility is located in an area not covered by the federal regulations, then use the state resource locator to find out the specific requirements that need to be met. In most cases, the stormwater program is administered by authorized states. State program authorization status is available at:

The federal regulations apply in the following areas:

  • Alaska, Arizona, DC, Idaho, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oklahoma (Oil & Gas Exploration only – SIC 13xx and 5171), Texas (Oil & Gas Exploration only – SIC 13xx) American Samoa, Guam, Johnston Atoll, Midway Island, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and Wake Island
  • Federal facilities in Colorado, Delaware, Vermont and Washington
  • Indian Lands in
    • Alabama
    • Alaska
    • Arizona (including all of Navajo Reservation)
    • California
    • Colorado (including all of Ute Mountain Reservation)
    • Connecticut
    • Florida
    • Idaho
    • Maine
    • Massachusetts
    • Louisiana
    • Montana
    • Mississippi
    • New Mexico
    • Nevada (including all of duck Valley, Fort McDermitt and Goshute Reservations)
    • New York
    • North Dakota (including all of standing Rock Reservation)
    • South Dakota (including all of the Pine Ridge and Lake Traverse Reservations)
    • Oklahoma
    • Oregon
    • Rhode Island
    • Texas
    • Utah
    • Washington

Visit the Industrial Stormwater Resource Locator for information specific to each state.

If federal regulations apply to you, continue to either:

Lesson 1 | Page 6 of 7Home | DictionaryPrevious Page | Next Page